Its been long enough for me to get some perspective and ultimately I have decided that the season just gone was a successful one although at times it was highly frustrating. We got our first taste of Champions League footie and played some exciting footie which probably earned us a great deal of kudos in playing on Europe’s top stage with swagger and desire to entertain (and win) at all costs. You won’t beat actually hearing the Champs League theme ring out at the Lane.
Speaking of which the whole ground thing has been a pain this season, we desperately need a bigger capacity in order to get more fans and revenue in. I understood (from a business point of view) why we should chase the Olympic stadium but once its gone, let it go, fall back to plan B and get us a bigger ground
Too many draws, silly losses at home, points dropped against ‘lesser’ clubs have all been annoying but I think the two failures this season that have bugged me are;
1) Limp exit from the CL, I know Crouch getting sent off didn’t help but I wish we’d just made a fight/game of it.
2) Strikers not scoring goal – jeez how poor were they this season? On paper they were potent but in real life – oh my god it was shocking
Following season end, there was talk that Harry might go to the blue scum and I was staggered by the anti-Harry stuff that was coming out on forums etc. Harry has done wonders for us and whilst I struggle with his decisions and tactics at times, I am not a footie manager and not the manager of THFC, I am never gonna love everything he does, but look at what he has done and manage your expectations sensibly. We were always going to struggle to get top 4 again and we won’t win the league for some time….. fact
‘Fans’ on the forums etc have also been slagging off Luka as well, at the end of the day, players always move on, they are not fans and therefore don’t have the same feelings or considerations. Give the guy a break, if he moves on, lets just hope that we get good money and can buy/negotiate decent replacements.
Finally I couldn’t not mention #MartinJol. I still love big MJ and think he was poorly treated by THFC, Fulham at the Lane is the final game of the season and I hope to be there, hoping MJ will still be there to give him a cheer and to hope he comes back once Harry moves on. Good luck Martin but lets hope we beat Fulham every time we play them - COYS